ND newspapers top SD in ‘Best of Dakotas’ competition

5/04/17 (Thu)

ND newspapers top SD in ‘Best of Dakotas’ competition

North Dakota newspapers have been judged “Best of the Dakotas” in four of five circulation categories.

The awards were handed out Friday, April 28, 2017 during a joint convention of newspaper association members from the two states.

The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead was judged the best of the large circulation dailies in the two states.

Other winners were the Walsh County Record of Grafton in the category for large weeklies; the Hillsboro Banner for medium-sized weeklies; and The Herald of New England for small weeklies.

The South Dakota winner was the Madison Daily Leader in competition among small daily newspapers.

This is the third time that newspapers from the two Dakotas have gone head-to-head in a general excellence style competition. The first time, in 2013, North Dakota won three of the five categories.

In 2015, South Dakota turned the tables, collecting three of the five Best of Dakotas awards.


General Excellence and Special awards awarded to North Dakota newspapers

Meanwhile, five North Dakota newspapers have been judged best in their classes in the North Dakota Newspaper Associations Better Newspaper contest.

The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead was named the best large daily newspaper in the state, winning the general excellence award for newspapers with 12,001 or more subscribers.

The Jamestown Sun won the general excellence award for small dailies, and The Journal of Crosby was named the state’s best large weekly.

Among medium sized weeklies, the Hankinson News-Monitor claimed the general excellence award, and the Adams County Record of Hettinger took top honors for small weeklies.

The Bismarck Tribune was second and the Grand Forks Herald third in general excellence for large dailies.

For small dailies, The Williston Herald was the second place winner in general excellence and the Dickinson Press was third.

For large weeklies, second place went to the Walsh County Record of Grafton, the Cass County Reporter of Casselton was third and the McKenzie County Farmer of Watford City received honorable mention.

For medium sized weeklies, second place went to Bowman County Pioneer and third to The Tioga Tribune.

The Mandan News won second place in general excellence for small weeklies, while the New Town News was third.

Several special awards were also handed out Friday, including:

• Caroline Grueskin of the Bismarck Tribune was named rookie reporter of the year.

• The award for Community Service Journalism went to Bismarck Tribune staffers Blair Emerson, Jessica Holdman and Mike McCleary for a multi media series on institutionalized care in North Dakota.

• The First Amendment Award went to The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead for a continuing commitment to open government and holding public officials accountable when they violate the public trust.

• The Newspapers in Education Teacher of the Year Award was given to Diann Rudolph, a fifth grade teacher at Larimore.

• The Newspapers in Education Newspaper of the Year Award went to The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead.

For further information, contact Sarah Elmquist Squires,
NDNA Executive Director,
866-685-8889 or