Education Foundation

Founded in 1979, the North Dakota Newspaper Association Education Foundation relies on donations and interest from investments to fund a variety of educational programs, internships and scholarships for North Dakota students.


"To provide the advancement of journalism education, study, research and development through financial assistance, internships, fellowships, lectureships and other means to enhance the newspaper profession in North Dakota."


The NDNA Education Foundation publishes newsletters throughout the year to help with its mission.


The NDNA Education Foundation annually funds summer internships at North Dakota newspapers.

NDNAEF Officers and Directors


Aaron Becher, Fargo: President


Jim Fleming, Bismarck
Tom Monilaws, Mayville
Mike Gackle, Garrison
Kirsten Stromsodt, Grand Forks
Dustin Monke, Bismarck
Gary Adkisson, Bismarck
Curt Pearson, Bismarck
Harvey Brock, Dickinson (NDNA Past President)
Paul Erdelt, Steele (NDNA President)

Ex-Officio Members

Karen Speidel (NDNA 1st VP)
Steve Andrist, Bismarck: Secretary/Treasurer (NDNA Executive Director)

Lifetime Honorary Board Members

William C. Marcil, Fargo
Roger Bailey, Bismarck

Legal Counsel

Jack McDonald, Bismarck


You Can Help!

If you would like to help assure the future of quality journalism in North Dakota, your contribution will be appreciated. The NDNA Education Foundation has been certified as an IRS 501 (c)(3) foundation and your donation is tax deductible.

Donations may be sent to:
NDNA Education Foundation
1435 Interstate Loop
Bismarck ND 58503-0567

If you have questions about the foundation, please call Steve Andrist at 701-223-6397, or email him at